RSS

Never Washing My Hair Again…Maybe.

30 Aug

So I just read an article about not washing your hair with shampoo or conditioner to save money. At first i thought it was crazy! I don’t know if I could ever live without my shampoo and conditioner. I am the type to use really nice expensive stuff, but since my recent layoff from my job, I have been looking for ways to save money.

The article made shampoo from baking soda and water and conditioner from apple cider vinegar and one cup water. What a revelation! One tablespoon of baking soda and water makes for a good cleaning agent for one’s hair. If your hair becomes too dry with this recipe, simply add less baking soda until it seems right for your hair. Everyone’s oil output is different. The conditioner is the same recipe. One tablespoon of apple cider vinegar and on cup water. If your hair tends to be more oily use less vinegar and so on.

I will be trying this starting today. I will give it about a month or so since the lack of chemicals degreasing my hair will cause it to over produce oils.

Here’s the great part about this if it works: I will save so much money! I spend $10 dollars minimum per month on shampoo and conditioner. I more than likely spend more, but at this point I am just estimating. One small box of baking soda costs less than a dollar and a small bottle of apple cider vinegar costs about $3. The baking soda is only good for one month after opened, but that is still one $1, and the apple cider vinegar would last approx. 2 months. I would only be spending $2.50 per month of hair care products. Over an entire year that is a savings of $90 per year, which may not seem like a lot, but that is a whole car insurance payment or $90 extra to put into my life savings.

Okay, time to stop writing and start washing my hair! I will post again on this to tell the first hand story of how well it works.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Never Washing My Hair Again…Maybe.

  1. hardworkingmama26

    August 30, 2011 at 10:46 PM

    Just remember this is my first blog ever!!! be nice…:-)

     
  2. hardworkingmama26

    August 31, 2011 at 5:18 AM

    I tried this a few hours ago. my hair is very soft and shiny and doesn’t smell like anything but clean hair. we’ll see how the next couple of weeks turn out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
