RSS

Motherhood

01 Sep

Never did I ever think I would have a baby at the age of 22. When I was younger I had a set plan. Finish high school, finish college and have a good job by 22, get married at 24, have kids starting at 26 ending at 32. Wow! how different things really turned out. I don’t regret anything because I ended up having the most beautiful child that could ever exist…not that I am biased or anything. Soon she will be 4 years old and that makes me feel kind of old too, even though really I am still very young.

It seems like only yesterday (as cliche as that sounds) that I was in the hospital being induced. 18 hours later I had a successful c-section to a beautiful baby girl. She seemed so small even though she was a huge baby! I don’t remember a lot because of all the drugs they gave me before the c-section. The one thing I do remember is that sweet little baby girl looking me right in the eyes for a long time before the nurses took her to be cleaned.

She slept though the night from day one. She rarely had tantrums as a baby, although now she is quite the little diva. Almost from the first time she walked she was running. She potty trained herself practically, and now my little smarty pants is learning her ABC’s and 123’s so quickly.

I am so proud to call myself a mom, but even more so to call her my daughter. I couldn’t have asked for a more well behaved, amazingly smart little girl. She is truly the sunshine of my life and I can’t imagine even one day without her. She has taught me more than I could have ever known. I thought I was a patient person before her. Wrong. I thought I was loving and nurturing before her. Wrong. I thought being a parent was easy. Wrong again. It’s a tough job, but every upset is worth it.

Thank you baby girl for being so smart, well behaved, and kind. Thank you for making me a better person. Thank you for making my life more meaningful than I could have ever hoped for. Thank you for showing me the true meaning of love.

You never truly know what love is until you have a child. What a blessing in my life you have been. I hope that I can teach you and love you as much as you have taught me and love me. Happy Birthday to the little light of my life!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
