RSS

Read

06 Sep

For the next four years (three years and three months really) I will be reading the recommended books everyone should read before the age of 30. I have modified it a bit and gone between a couple of different acknowledged lists. I took a popular list and edited out the books I don’t care to read or know I wont be able to make it though. The only book that may be a challenge will be War and Peace merely because of its length. I choose 30 books of different genre’s and lengths from 29 different authors. Only one author is repeated because I wanted to read two of his books from two different lists.

My hope is that I will learn a lot in this process, but I don’t know what to expect or if I will even finish. This only allows for 40 days spent on each book. I know a book or two that may take much longer than that. Right now I have a bit of time on my hands, but in a few weeks I will have little to no time each day. Maybe half an hour or so. Okay, so good luck to me and each day I will blog about what I read or why I didn’t read. The following is the list I plan to read:

  1. 1984 by George Orwell
  2. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  3. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  4. For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway
  5. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
  6. The Rights of Man by Tom Paine
  7. The Social Contract by Jean-Jacques Rousseau
  8. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  9. The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Graham
  10. The Art of War by Sun Tzu
  11. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
  12. Catch 22 by Joseph Heller
  13. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  14. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  15. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyersky
  16. The Prince by Niccolo Machiavelli
  17. Walden by Henry David Thoreau
  18. Getting Things Done by David Allen
  19. How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie
  20. The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov
  21. Honeymoon With My Brother by Franz Wisner
  22. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  23. All Quiet on the Western Front by Enich Maria Remarque
  24. His Dark Materials Trilogy by Philip Pullman
  25. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
  26. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  27. Sophie’s Choice by William Styron
  28. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  29. The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
  30. Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 6, 2011 in Books and Writing

 

Leave a Reply

 
